Chapter 3: Sparring

Nyota made it back to the base camp to nap for a few hours before getting up again. Of course she needed to sleep, but at the same time she didn’t want to waste any of her time here.Screenshot-85

When I woke up, I had an email with further instructions. Finally! I was told to meet Hui Kim Young and given an address, so that is the first place I went after eating a quick meal. The address led me to a house where a woman came outside to meet me. She introduced herself as Hui Kim Young, and we bowed to each other in respect. Hui told me to come inside and change into my gi.

Screenshot-86

I could tell where this was going, and after paying respects to each other again, we began to spar.

Screenshot-89

Nyota sparred with Hui, who was clearly much more experienced than her, and, on top of that, she had the belt to prove it.

Screenshot-87

Screenshot-88

Nyota pressed on, frantically punching and kicking, but she kept missing her target.

Screenshot-91

She also had to contend with attempting to dodge Hui’s blows, and the sharp sting in her left forearm showed that she was not always successful.

Screenshot-92

Nyota finally managed a successful blow to Hui, who was caught off gaurd by someone who she had concluded in her mind was quite inexperienced.

Screenshot-90

They bowed to conclude their sparring.

“You fight with much determination,” was the only compliment Hui would give.

“Thanks.”

Screenshot-94

But Hui’s expression showed that she was proud of her new student. She gave Nyota an orange belt to wear.

Screenshot-96

“You have passed the test. Go see Deng Wang, and he will have more instruction.”

With that, Nyota hurried off to the plaza to find Deng.

Screenshot-99

I am finally going to find out my true purpose for coming here.

Screenshot-98

“I must say that I am so thankful that you have invited me here; I am truly honored,” Nyota started. “I am looking forward to this special job from you.”

Screenshot-100

“No job,” Deng replied. “You should go home to your family. I will contact you again when I have a job for you.”

“But I thought that’s why I was here.” Nyota could feel her frustration building up.

“Hui said you passed the test. More to come later.”

Nyota tried to control her anger as she huffed away. This was not what she expected.

Screenshot-102

Nyota would have to leave first thing in the morning, so she decided to go fishing at the last minute.

Screenshot-105

I knew this wouldn’t work like it does in the movies, but I still expected him to have something for me to do! At least my expenses were paid for.

Screenshot-103

Despite her focus being elsewhere, she finally manages to catch a golden koi fish.

Screenshot-267

The foggy mist of Storybrook City greets her when she returns.

Screenshot-233

I don’t have any grand adventure stories. I can “embellish” my trip for the kids, though, right?

Screenshot-7

After showing Rhonda and Chastity the koi fish, they begged me to keep it (which I was already planning to do) and named it Chi Chi.

6 thoughts on “Chapter 3: Sparring

  1. Oh, nice to see an update from this story, too!
    That Deng must have really annoyed Nyota. But if she comes again, I know that she won’t be disappointed. China is such a nice place to stay in and there is a lot you can do there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, it was definitely annoying. She was expecting much more to do, but she at least enjoyed seeing China. Unfortunately the trips are very short until I can get her visa level up.

    Thanks for reading! 🙂

    Like

  3. Weird that I can’t find the “like” button for the first chapter, but I did like it, lol

    That answers my question about the koi fish. I always find it amusing how much the fish change size in Sims. They have amazing abilities to shrink super small and fit into the smallest of fish bowls, but when you take them out, suddenly they seem bigger, lol

    I don’t blame her for being disappointed, I would be too. However, just going to China is a story in and of itself, so I don’t think she needs to worry about that! =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right, and I’m not sure why that is. WordPress glitch? But I’m glad you liked it anyway. 😛

      Yeah, it was practically half her size! Some fish magic, there.

      Yep, she wanted to explore tombs, find monsters, excavate treasures … But hopefully next time. Yeah, just seeing the beauty of China is an adventure, and her kids will be impressed anyway.

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

  4. Haha, no big task, just completing a test! Sounds about right for a first trip. I know you’re probably way past Visa L1, but I’d suggest buying the Prepared Traveller LTR, so you can get 6 days in the location even at Visa L0.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment